Long Live John Blake!

SPOILERS! SPOILERS! SPOILERS! Do not read further if you have not watched The Dark Knight Rises yet but intend to ever.

johnblake

When I walked out of the theater after The Dark Knight Rises, there were several things going through my mind.

But mainly John ROBIN Blake.

I wanted to badly for Joseph Gordon-Levitt to play Robin. But even though I thought his character was just a guy named John Blake, I really grew to love his character quickly. In his youth he had a hard and troubled past, much like Bruce Wayne, but without the resources. Yet he rose above his circumstances, worked hard, and became one of Gotham City’s finest.  And at the end when you find out his name is John ROBIN Blake, and that Bruce left him his cave and everything in it (essentially his legacy), I had to really contain my urge to fist pump in the air.

C. NOLAN!!! IT’S ROBIN MOVIE TIME!!!

Right?

Right?!?!

Nolan has said multiple times he’s “done” with Batman, but we all know Robin isn’t Batman. Even if he became Nightwing he wouldn’t be Batman. Duh. So in my mind, this is still possible.

Move aside Cat Lady, John Robin Blake was the star of The Dark Knight Rises as far as I’m concerned, and he deserves a movie.

But could it pretty please be coming one day?

But could it pretty please be coming one day?

One with Barbara Gordon, Harley Quinn, and the Riddler.

I’ve started a movie treatment, folks. And though I hesitate to put this on the Internet as anyone can steal my idea and claim it as their own, I am willing to risk it because I want this movie to be made. But if my idea gets stolen, I demand a 1% cut of the movie’s gross profits and a chance to meet with Christopher Nolan. Thank you. Now that my demands have been made…

Robin John Blake (Joseph Gordon-Levitt) has been working with the Boys’ Home in Gotham reestablished at Wayne Manor after Bruce Wayne’s (supposed) death while working behind the scenes to prepare for his role as Nightwing when Gotham needs him.

One day the Boys’ Home welcomes in a new intern, a graduate student studying social work named Barbara Gordon (Emma Stone or Ellen Page), who also happens to be Commissioner Gordon (Gary Oldham)’s daughter.

Meanwhile, Arkham Asylum psychologist Dr. Heather Quinzel (Ellen Page or Olivia Wilde) is devastated by the death of one of her patients, the Joker, who she found fascinating and wrote her doctorate dissertation on. The Joker leaves Heather a note telling her to seek out an old friend of his, Edward Nashton (Leonardo DiCaprio) who lives for riddles and games.

Heather quickly finds herself immersed in Edward’s world and he convinces her to finish the job the Joker started, and the two become a team as Harley Quinn and The Riddler.

That’s all have so far, but clearly Barbara Gordon has to become Batgirl and help Blake out, and clearly they would fall in love. (Also, Christopher Nolan needs to get someone else to flesh out Gordon’s character and her relationship with Blake, since he is apparently incapable of creating good women characters or romantic relationships unless they were in the movie Inception. I volunteer!)

robin-blake-movie

Does this not look like the makings of an awesome movie?! (I don’t know who did the Photoshop job of Leo, but thank you.)

So there you have it, Mr. Nolan. The ball is in your court. I can be patient and wait a few years, but I want this movie to happen. I will be waiting for your call.

What would you like to see in a John Blake movie?

3 thoughts on “Long Live John Blake!

  1. I’m pondering this. I liked him a lot in the part … I just am not sure how I feel about John Blake being used to continue the Batman mythos, being the “canon foreigner” that he is from the comic book perspective. That really conflicts with the fact that I GREATLY enjoyed John Blake, and really want to see more of him.

    A lot of comic book fans were fairly flustered by “Robin” being part of his name, and while I thought it was a fun nod, especially since his character was a combination of several comic Robin back stories, I don’t know how well it would work to try to make a comic book movie of an existing hero without one of the existing alter-egos. Nolan’s name would draw some attention on its own, and rightly so, and people like me would go anywhere, but purists would lose it.

    The other issue with the Nightwing route is that people NOT particularly comic-knowledgeable might blow it off entirely. Even Green Lantern (which, admittedly, wasn’t the greatest movie) who is a top-tier comic book hero but isn’t one that is entrenched in pop-culture (like Batman, Superman, Spider-Man, etc) didn’t do nearly as well.

    Not a bad route overall. I really like the thought of Olivia Wilde as Harley Quinn, though I’m not really sold on either Ellen Page or Emma Stone (as much as I love both of them) as Barb. Someone more like Summer Glau is where my mind goes.

    The teaming of Riddler and Harley is an interesting one. I’m not sure how I feel about Leo as Edward either … but then, I’ve been surprised before, lol.

    Good analysis. It had me thinking all night after I read it.🙂

    • I know it’s probably not a comic purist’s dream, but I like it, ha ha. I was trying to cast people Nolan has already used, since he tends to do that, and while someone like Johnny Depp would probably be a more popular and obvious choice (and still a great one), I also think Leo can pull off just about anything. I also thought of Haley Atwell for Barbara, mostly because I loved her as Peggy.

      • That’s legit. I also have to say that I say Summer Glau because I think of her as handling the physicality of the role better, but I was also extremely pleasantly surprised by Anne Hathaway’s ability to handle Selina Kyle, so people can surprise me for sure.

Leave a Reply

