Top 10 Books on My TBR List

So the official theme for The Broke and the Bookish’s Top Ten Tuesday today is Top 10 Books on your 2013 Spring TBR (to be read) list. Well there’s no way I am going to get 10 books read this spring alone, plus it’s hard for me to plan that far ahead, seeing as I can always change my mind. So my first five choices are going to be the next five books I plan to read over the next three to four months, making it my spring list, and then the next five books will be possibilities for what I will read later in the year. This week’s list is no particular order.

The Spring-ish List

#1: Ender’s Game by Scott Orson Card

Enders_Game

I actually just ordered this on Amazon when I made an order for a couple of other things, and it should be here before I finish my current read. I also talked about this pick last week.

#2 & 3: Under the Never Sky and Through the Never Sky by Veronica Rossi

Under-the-Never-Sky-Through-the-Ever-Night

Again, also mentioned in last week Top 1o Tuesday post, and I received some further encouragement to read it. And once again, since they are available through my library e-book system, I feel good about the risk-free try. But of course, I’ll only read the second book if I like the first.

#4: For Darkness Shows the Stars by Diane Peterfreund

fordarknessshows

When I first heard about the concept behind this one, I knew I had to read it…  Jane Austen’s Persuasion meets genetic engineering? Uh, hello! That just screams, “Read me, Amy!” I’m hoping it’ as awesome as it sounds.

#5: The Elite by Kiera Cass

the-elite

I really enjoyed The Selection, the book before this one. I’ve heard this one is pretty frustrating, which doesn’t surprise me because it involves a love triangle and America (the main character) can be so clueless, but I’m still going to have to read it, of course.

The After Spring List

#6: The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

the-hobbit

This will actually be a reread for me. I read it in 8th grade, but wanted a refresher while the movies are coming out.

#7: 1984 by George Orwell

1984

This classic has been on my TBR list for a while, and I hope to finally get to it this year.

#8: Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis

tillwehavefaces

This one’s also been on my TBR list for a while, after one of my good friends from college gave it such a high recommendation.

#9: Across the Universe by Beth Revis

acrosstheuniverse (1)

This was also mentioned in last week’s post, and is the first book of a series, so more books could potentially follow in my reading list if I enjoy this one.

#10: Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diane Peterfreund

starsweptsea

This book is not supposed to be coming out until October, and is set in the same universe as For Darkness Shows the Stars. So again, I’ll only read this one if I enjoy the other. But I hope I will!

What’s on your TBR list?

9 thoughts on “Top 10 Books on My TBR List

  1. Good list – there’s a few of these I’ll have to add to my TBR list as well. I’d definitely recommend re-reading The Hobbit, even if PJ wasn’t making the movies now.

  2. Hmmm. I don’t know if I’ll make this happen or not, but here’s my line of thinking. I may not actually stick with this because I change my mind or buy something new, but I’m always reading something (most of these are just because they’re in a pile of books I’ve been given ….)

    Taken by Robert Crais (currently in progress)
    A Wanted Man by Lee Child (a Jack Reacher novel)
    Run For Your Life by James Patterson
    Star Wars: Mercy Kill by Aaron Allston (somewhat in progress)
    (Reread) The Hobbit by Tolkien
    (Reread) The Lord of the Rings by Tolkien
    (Reread) The Silmarillion by Tolkien
    Star Trek: Allegiance in Exile by David R George III
    Only Superhuman by Christopher L. Bennett
    The Calling by David Mack

    I dunno … lol.

  3. I am so happy to know I’m not the only one who has yet to read 1984 and Ender’s Game! I LOVE The Hobbit and Across the Universe, though. I have the final book in AtU sitting on my shelf, waiting for me to finish my current books. Also, I had no idea For Darkness Shows the Stars was a take on Austen! Oh my word, I must bump this up the list! Excellent list!

    Thanks for visiting my blog, by the way!🙂

Leave a Reply

