Wednesday Round-Up: The Elite, DS9, Dory, Castle, & Whedon

I have no idea how often this “Wednesday Round-Up” feature will happen or if it will ever happen again, but I felt possessed to share a few things and just decided to put it all in one round-up-style post.

Waiting On Wednesday: The Elite by Kiera Cass

WoW

the-elite

There is a weekly blog event hosted by Breaking the Spine called Waiting on Wednesday, where book bloggers share upcoming book releases that they are anticipating. Well, I have been looking forward to The Elite since I finished The Selection, but now that we’re in its release month, it’s starting to feel real! I’m super nervous about the book, as I have heard there are so many twists and turns that makes everything frustrating, but I know I won’t be able to put off reading it for too long. And then I’ll have to wait until NEXT YEAR for the last book! Ack! Note to self: don’t get into anymore series when only the first book is released. Also, Team Maxon, for anyone who cares. I plan to review The Selection on here before too long. Anyone else looking forward to The Elite?

Why You Should Watch My Fave TV Show, Star Trek: Deep Space Nine

ds9

If you want to know why I love Star Trek: Deep Space Nine, read this. Even if you haven’t heard of it, read it, because then you will know of it, and then you should promptly watch all seven seasons of it. Amazing story arcs, character arcs, great stories of science fiction that mirror modern times and have great social commentary… there is just so much goodness in the show! Yes, it’s 10+ years old, but good storytelling knows no age, and that is certainly true of DS9. Any other Trekkies out there?

Finding Dory: Couldn’t Pixar Find New Stories?

dory

This article about Finding Dory, the sequel to Finding Nemo, is very timely. My husband and I have spent the past couple of weekends going through the Pixar movies we own, and we have been complaining about how Pixar just doesn’t produce as good of movies as they once did. We were also pointing out all the great details in the movie. In fact, we watched the mini-documentary on the making of Finding Nemo that was on the bonus disc, and everyone who was involved with the look of the film was required to become scuba diving certified and go scuba diving! And then they actually went to Australia to check out the Great Barrier Reef! How awesome is that? And such amazing attention to detail! So even though I think Disney has ruined Pixar a little and made them do these silly sequels, I will forgive if finding Dory is anywhere near as well-done as Finding Nemo. What do you think of a Nemo sequel?

Castle’s 100th Episode

castle

Monday was the 100th episode of my favorite currently-running show on TV (AKA, the only one I actually watch on a consistent basis), Castle. For those who are unfamiliar with it, it stars Nathan Fillion as writer Richard Castle, who shadows a homicide detective for writing inspiration. At least, that’s how it began. Now, he pretty much works at the precinct (unpaid) and is dating detective Kate Beckett. The 100th episode was a nod to the Alfred Hitchcock movie Rear Window. In the episode, Castle finds himself injured much like Jimmy Stewart’s character is in the movie, and he too spies on his neighbors, and his imagination runs wild with what he sees. It was a great episode, and one that I think would be fun to check out even if you haven’t watched the show before. Any other Castle fans out there?

Great Quote About Writing from Joss Whedon

Lastly, I just wanted to share this quote. I think it is a perfect description of why I write.

joss-whedon

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Round-Up: The Elite, DS9, Dory, Castle, & Whedon

  1. Oh my gosh, what a coincidence. I just finished watching an episode of Star Trek DS9 before I got onto my computer! I had avoided that iteration of Star Trek in the past, because my husband said he hadn’t liked it. But I have a friend who’s been watching it and tweeting about it nonstop, and she’s gotten me so interested that I wanted to watch it. SO… my husband and I have been watching it from the beginning and I’m enjoying it! We’ll see if it can rival my absolute favorite: Voyager. But I’m glad I’ve decided to start watching it! 😀

    • Funny! I hope you grow to love it! It’s very different from Voyager, but it’s still Star Trek. If you’re enjoying the beginning of the series, it only gets better! And if you like DS9, you’ll have to check out Babylon 5 as well if you haven’t already. It’s pretty similar in tone and even somewhat in story, but it’s different enough to not feel too much the same.

      • Yes, I’m liking DS9 so far (only on episode 7 of s1)! You’re right, it’s very different from Voyager, but I do want to continue watching it. So many people tell me how great it is! Good to know about Babylon 5. Maybe that will be the show I watch after I finish with DS9. 😀

    • I really enjoy it when they reference other shows or movies like that. I think my absolute favorite episode is when there is a murder at a science fiction convention, because there are a lot of great references in that one.

Leave a Reply

