Analyzing Movie Trailers

There were three great trailers that came out this week that I wanted to talk about: Star Trek, Man of Steel, and last but certainly not least, Catching Fire.

Star Trek

I’m so interested in the villain in this movie. Apparently he is Star Fleet Intelligence gone terribly wrong. Benedict Cumberbatch looks so crazy intense in this movie. But then again, so does everything else. I’m excited about seeing it all unfold, whatever it is that is going on!

Star-Trek-Into-Darkness

Man of Steel

I’ve wanted to be excited about this movie, but I’ve had a hard time. With this trailer, I finally get the substance I’ve been looking for. First: Russell Crowe is Superman’s dad?! Awesome. Clark saves people from childhood. His Earth dad tells him about his origins, and young Clark pleads, “Can’t I just be your son?” And he tells him, “You are my son!” Um, *tear*

Then we have Amy Adams, playing Lois Lane. I guess she’s writing a story on him? BTW, I don’t see Clark Kent the reporter anywhere in this movie. It just seems like he’s a lost guy training to find his way. That seems interesting.

jake-sisko

“But I’m a reporter!” Shut up, Jake. You’re not Clark Kent.

But the end of the trailer… really? Sigh.

Catching Fire

There are so many feels in this trailer! But let’s start with Snow and Plutarch’s conversation. Obviously not part of the book, but HOLY CRAP! Plutarch sounds genuine when he plays along with Snow’s ideas to kill Katniss: “I agree she should die, but in the right way, at the right time. Katniss Everdeen is a symbol. We don’t have to destroy her, just her image. Show them that  she’s one of us now. Let them rally behind that. They’re going to hate her so much they just might kill her for you.” *Sinister laughter from Snow*

never-favor

Then Haymitch tells Katniss, “This trip doesn’t end when you get back home… from now on, your job is to be be a distraction so people forget what the real problems are.” More feelings!

Then cue Effie, and the Capitol party.

katniss-effie-peeta-catching-fireThen Gale! Riots! Prim, being way cooler than she was in the books! (Not that I disliked her in the books, but I like the initiative she’s showing in the trailer!)  The whipping. The Peacemaker drawing the gun. And then, Snow again: “Her entire species must be eradicated… the other victors… because of her, they all think they’re invincible.” Oh man, I get chills every time I hear him say that. And it all ends with the whistle. I think this movie shows so much amazing potential, I feel it’ll definitely be better than the first movie, but I’m also thinking: It could be better than the book. I know that sounds crazy! Maybe I’m wrong, but man, the trailer is powerful. And that’s probably only the first 30-45 minutes of the movie. We still haven’t seen the Quarter Quell. Or the marriage proposal. Or CINNA! Ah! Do I  really have to wait until November?!

Oblivion comes out tomorrow, which I’m also excited about! What movies are you anticipating?

7 thoughts on “Analyzing Movie Trailers

  1. I agree, the movie of Catching Fire almost HAS to be better than the book… :p

    I am very excited for Star Trek and Oblivion, though. Man of Steel, less so, but I definitely want to see it.

  2. I’m most excited for Star Trek! Can’t believe the last movie was in 2009. Catching Fire I’m looking forward to too, but I’m on the fence about Superman…each time a new movie comes out I’m not sure what more it will add. The last few films have been ok, not bad but not great either, IMHO. The trailer for this one’s great…so…yup, still on the fence 🙂

    • I’m mostly interested in Man of Steel because Christopher Nolan’s name is attached to it. And it pretty much has to be better than the last one. I doubt it’ll become one of my favorite movies or anything though.

  3. I hadn’t seen the Star Trek or Superman trailers, so thanks for sharing. I agree, Cumberbatch looks intense in Star Trek, but I love it. Sometimes I feel like the villains in the movie are the most fun to watch just because they are so evil! Part of me always roots for them, even though I know they won’t win.

    I’m not a huge Superman person, so that one doesn’t excite me as much. But I do agree that it is nice the storyline looks more about his journey and doesn’t focus on his reporter role. Sometimes it feels like these things get redone so many times that it gets tiring, but it’s nice to see efforts made to make them different.

    And Catching Fire! How can you NOT be excited about that one? The trailer definitely is epic, and gives me chills every time. I only worry if they can keep it up. It’s almost too good to be true!

    • Yeah, I’m not the biggest Superman fan either. But yes, holy crap, Catching Fire! I am very intrigued to see how they do Mockingjay, especially since I think the plan is to divide it into two movies.

      • Oh, I didn’t hear about them dividing Mockingjay into two movies. Of course, that does seem to be the popular thing to do in Hollywood (any way to make more money)! I’m just hoping that if this one is as good as it looks, the next one is just as good or better!

Leave a Reply

