Revamping Stories

When we hear that Hollywood is releasing a “new” movie that is really a remake of something old, we all groan. Sometimes, this is for good reason:

the-earth-stood-still

I’ll admit I haven’t seen the original, but it HAS to be better than this.

But sometimes, it’s incredibly awesome:

the-dark-knight-trilogyIn my review for Cinder, I applauded the book’s unique and fresh retelling of a story we all know. When a retelling, a rebooting, or a revamping of something we’ve seen before is done right, it’s comfortable like being home, but also provides a new perspective like vacation. This has also been demonstrated well through the very successful (and rightfully so) Lizzie Bennett Diaries, the modern-day, vlog format retelling of Pride and Prejudice.

So I was quite excited when I was on Pinterest the other day and found this:

fakemovie-peanutswith the description that this was an idea for a fake Peanuts movie. I HAD to check the source for more details. Turns out the guy who created this collage has concocted a plot for a live-action movie with the Peanuts character in high school. Here is his idea: “Struggling to cope with the loss of his life-long friend and pet, Charlie Brown’s (Thieriot) high school experience has been as much of a downer as his childhood. His best friend, Linus (Lerman), is too busy obsessing over graduating early to get into the seminary to help Charlie with his problems; his sister, Sally (Osment), is boy-crazy and fundamentally worthless; his ex-girlfriend, Patty (Stone) is now an activist for whatever cause crosses her path; even his childhood pal, Marcy (Winstead), has abandoned her dorky past for pom-poms and now shuns her former friends. The only person left for him to turn to is his former enemy, Lucy (Fonseca), still hell-bent on becoming a psychiatrist. But maybe in this ocean of blackness, Charlie can find a glimmer of happiness before it’s too late.”

I am a big Peanuts fan, and I’ve always wanted to see the characters in a fresh, new way, but didn’t know how exactly… until I saw this! Granted, it could easily bomb and be terrible, but with the right writer and director I think it would be awesome!

linus

I mean, seriously.

Here’s another one from this guy’s blog:

fakemovie-101dalmations101 Dalmatians reboot with John Krasinski and Amy Adams? Um, yes please! Most adorable movie ever! (Though there is no mention of Cruella De Vil… I think Charlize Theron would be a great choice.)

And then one more:

fakemovie-modernlittlewomenA modern day adaptation of Little Women! I want this SO BAD! His idea for the cast is as follows: Lyndsy Fonseca as Margaret “Meg” March, Emma Watson as Josephine “Jo” March, Shailene Woodley as Elizabeth “Beth” March, Elle Fanning as Amy Curtis March, and Aaron Tveit as Theodore “Laurie” Laurence. Not shabby at all!  He didn’t include the modernized plot synopsis for this one, so I think I may have to indulge my creativity and create one and save it for another post on another day.

Here’s the link to the tumblr site if you want to see more of his lovely storyboard collages of new movie ideas or of movies/characters we already know and love.

What story do you want to see revamped in a great, new way?

6 thoughts on “Revamping Stories

  1. Oh, these are really interesting! I have to say, the one that really caught my eye was the Peanuts one. I think I would definitely see a movie if they created one based off the cartoon, and am sort of surprised they never have! Don’t we all sort of hold a special place in our heart for Charlie Brown?

    • Whenever Charles Shultz retired/died (since unfortunately that was pretty much at the same time 😦 ), I remember that his family said they had no intention of allowing anyone else to carry on with the cartoon, and I thought that might include movies. Well now they’re releasing a Peanuts cartoon movie (either next year or 2015, I can’t remember exactly). All that being said, I have wondered if they had any stipulations in mind about live-action movies as well, or if no one has just ever wanted to attempt it. I think whoever did it would have to work hard to do the spirit of the cartoon justice, but I think it could be fun! I love me some Charlie Brown!

  2. Woooow, these all sound REALLY interesting! I didn’t think I would ever want to see the Peanuts as real people, but I was wrong, because that movie sounds really cool. The 101 Dalmatians would be cute, too. I think Tilda Swinton would also make a pretty awesome Cruella DeVille (or however you spell her name). I don’t remember Little Women all that well, but I would definitely watch that movie too. 🙂

  3. I don’t know about a Peanuts-all-grown-up movie but I am in LOVE with the yellow tones dispersed throughout that collage. Like I could probably hang it on my wall.

Leave a Reply

