Review: Scarlet

scarlet

I was so excited about Scarlet about reading Cinder, though I wondered, Will I love Scarlet the character as much as I love Cinder the character? 

So I begin to read. And several chapters into it I was wondering when the action was going to happen. Though Cinder does not begin action-oriented, it was able to hold my interest right from the start. But Scarlet at the tavern… Cinder meeting Thorne and breaking out of jail… Scarlet at the fights… blahblahblah… it was all very slow and didn’t hold my interest as well as Cinder’s story at the beginning. I did like the part where Scarlet’s dad shows up at the farm searching for what his mother was hiding. But for a while, I was starting to seriously wonder about this sequel.

Things finally started to pick up after a while, and somewhere probably in the last third of the book, the action and plot really kicked up a few notches. This time, I didn’t see ALL the plot twists coming (like I did in Cinder) and so was a little bit more surprised. I wondered after Cinder how the story could continue to be stretched over three more books, but after reading Scarlet, I understand better, and the overarching story is becoming clearer. I like that we continue to get Cinder’s POV at times, Kai’s, and once even Queen Levena’s! I ended up not liking Scarlet nearly as much as Cinder, though this is more personal preference than anything, as she is a pretty strong character. Wolf was deeply complex, but he’s definitely no Kai. Not that he should be necessarily, but he doesn’t even compare on the charm factor. Thorne annoyed me at first, but I actually grew to like him better as the book went on. I feel Cinder probably felt the same way.

The story flows well, even with its growing complexity and multiple POVs (I think it really helps to have the third person POV when doing multiple characters’ POV (I’m looking at you, Aly Condie)), and I’m interested in seeing how the story continues in the next installment! I just wish I didn’t have to wait so long!

Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

If you’ve read Scarlet, what were your thoughts?

P.S. And on a completely unrelated note…

may-the-fourth-yodaI should have prepared for this day better and tone a top 10 related to Star Wars. Maybe next year!

7 thoughts on “Review: Scarlet

  1. I enjoyed “Cinder” but I’ve been holding off on the sequel because it wasn’t based on Cinder’s story as much anymore. I’m sure I’ll pick it up soon, though – I’m definitely intrigued by the idea of a chapter told from Queen Levena’s POV.

    • It is interesting! Almost half the story is Cinder’s, but it’s mostly about her escape and trying to figure out what to do next. Towards the end Cinder and Scarlet meet up

  2. I haven’t read Cinder or Scarlet, but hey, at least when I do finally get around to it I won’t have to wait as long as everyone else for the next one to come out! 😉 Glad you enjoyed it overall, even if it didn’t suck you in right from the beginning. I’m so intrigued by this series!

    • You’ll enjoy them! But you’re right, at least you won’t have to wait AS long for the other books. Though I would really would have hated to have read Cinder last year and then wait for Scarlet in addition to the next two books!

  3. My experience was similar in the beginning. I kept waiting for things to pick up, and finally they did! I didn’t like Scarlet or Wolf as much as Cinder and Kai, but I still like all of the characters. I really adore Thorne and I love the dynamic between him and Cinder. 😀

Leave a Reply

