Waiting on Wednesday: The Testing

WoWWaiting on Wednesday is a weekly meme from Breaking the Spine, which highlights the releases we are anticipating. (Click on image above for more info.)

Ever since I have gotten back from Atlanta, I have been seeing quite a buzz surrounding The Testing, coming out June 4. And I have to say, it sounds intriguing!

the-testing-joelle-charbonneau

Here’s part of the synopsis, stolen from Goodreads: The Seven Stages War left much of the planet a charred wasteland. The future belongs to the next generation’s chosen few who must rebuild it. But to enter this elite group, candidates must first pass The Testing—their one chance at a college education and a rewarding career. 

Cia Vale is honored to be chosen as a Testing candidate; eager to prove her worthiness as a University student and future leader of the United Commonwealth. But on the eve of her departure, her father’s advice hints at a darker side to her upcoming studies–trust no one.

I really like this idea of a competition to get into a University after a war. In fact, I have written a story that has a somewhat similar concept, though different enough where I don’t feel like it would be considered a copy-cat. But another series! Ack! So much to keep up with!

Still… I just pre-ordered it. The synopsis has me intrigued and so far the reviews seem pretty good! I don’t think I’ve ever pre-ordered a fiction book before (I think the only other book I have pre-ordered was Jon Acuff’s book Start, which I did basically for all the extras I have yet to look at, since I already had the book). While ordering I also finally ordered For Darkness Shows the Stars after talking about reading it and seeing that Amazon is practically giving it away right now (just a little over $7!) along with The Book Thief because… sigh… library issues. Now I know why I only had seven days to read Insurgent; apparently when the library changed their website last year, they hid the checkout time  for book under account settings, so it was automatically set for 7 days. I decided to investigate this AFTER I had to check out The Book Thief twice (due to time and a waiting period before checking it out the second time). And now I’m 4th on a waiting list for it. I’m also 4th on a waiting list for two other books! Ack! But I digress…

What book release are you looking forward to? 

One thought on “Waiting on Wednesday: The Testing

Leave a Reply

