Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer (and Beyond) TBR List

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (as always, hosted by The Broke and the Bookish), is the Top 10 Books on my Summer TBR list. Well, it’ll take me more than the summer to read 10 books (seeing as I have only read 9.5 books so far this year), but these are the ones I plan to read next. These are in the order that I may or may not read them, since these things always seem to have a way of changing… in fact, the last five have a high likelihood of changing over time, but we shall see… 

1. Under The Never Sky

UNS hi res

My latest e-book library acquisition, to be read as soon as I finish my current read.

2. For Darkness Shows the Stars

3. The Testing

4. The Scorpio Races

5. The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight

recentbookbuys

These four were all recently acquired and are waiting to be read!

6. Redeeming Love

Layout 1

I’ve been meaning to read this one for a few years, and since I can get it through my library, I have no excuse to wait any longer!

7. 1984

1984

Another one I’ve been meaning to read for years, and we own this one.

8. Between Shades of Gray

betweenshades

Another gut-wrenching WWII book (as I have already read The Book Thief and Unbroken this year), and it’s available through my library as an e-book. Why do I keep reading these sad WWII books? Because I love learning about WWII, and because I think they’re important.

9. The Great Gatsby

10. The 5th Wave

gatsby-5thwave

These two I will need to acquire, which is why they are so far down the list. The Great Gatsby I would like to read before renting the movie later this year, and then I’ve heard good things about The 5th Wave and have been wanting to read more sci-fi, so I want to check it out as well.

And I still want to re-read The Hobbit before the second installment of The Hobbit film trilogy. I hope I can read all these this year, but as I alluded to before, this list can definitely change, so we’ll see.

What’s at the top of your summer TBR list?

39 thoughts on “Top Ten Books At The Top Of My Summer (and Beyond) TBR List

  1. I think I still have a copy of Gatsby and I know I have a copy of Redeeming Love somewhere that you could probably borrow … love that book. Will reply with my list later after I have a chance to glance at my spring list and see which ones I didnt read (as anticipated, I got sidetracked from some of them by other reads, lol).

  2. Some great choices. I’ve heard a lot of good things about Under the Never Sky, The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight, and The Scorpio Races. Hopefully you love them as well! I have some of these on my TBR list but don’t own them, maybe your reviews will change that 😉

    • Everyone seems to love Under The Never Sky so I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it too. I guess I should have put the sequel on my list, but as I said anyway, it’s subject to change anyway.

  3. Great list! I’ve been wanting to read The Scorpio Races for a long time, but haven’t gotten around to it yet. I hope you enjoy it! AND I hope you get a chance to read The Hobbit before the next movie comes out. There’s still plenty of time. 😀

    • Well I meant to reread The Hobbit last year before the first movie but I kept getting distracted by other books. My husband was rereading it at the time though so he pointed out some differences. But apparently I had terrible book amnesia, because all I remembered from the first movie was the riddling part. I didn’t even remember the dwarves!

  4. I love your list! I have the 5th Wave and The Statistical Probability too, and I really wanna read Between Shades of Gray. And Veronica Rossi is amazing! Her books are recommended reads 😀

    • Everyone seems to love Rossi’s books; hopefully I will be finished withy current read by the end of the week and then be ready to dive into Under the Never Sky!

  5. Great list! My sister just bought The 5th Wave so I plan on stealing it from her soon, and I downloaded Under the Never Sky a few weeks ago – that’ll be one of my summer reads, too, for sure! I haven’t read any of these other books except The Great Gatsby years ago, and 1984, which is definitely worth reading but also very depressing.

    Happy summer reading! 🙂

  6. I read The Great Gatsby not too long ago and ended up enjoying it, and also have The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight on my Summer TBR list. But that doesn’t mean I’ve read the other books you’ve mentioned either — on the contrary, I still need to read Between Shades of Gray and The Scorpio Races. Great list!

  7. My lists are always subject to change, too, since I tend to read according to my mood rather than anything else! It’s still fun to think about what you’re going to read, though 🙂

    I’m a huge Rossi fan, so I totally recommend reading UNDER THE NEVER SKY first. THE TESTING looks really good, too. I’ll definitely be reading that one at some point.

    Happy TTT!

    • Under The Never Sky will definitely be read first since it’s sitting in my Nook currently as borrowed from the library on a limited time frame. I’m hoping I’ll enjoy it!

  8. Under the Never Sky does look good. I have The Book Thief and Between Shades of Grey, but I want to binge read some “summery” books first. Those will be on my fall/winter list though!
    P.S. I have never read The Great Gatsby either!

  9. I’ve heard so much talk about The 5th Wave recently, it’s definitely very hyped now. I want to read 1984 so bad, I keep hoping that I’ll stumble upon it at the second-hand stores I frequent, since I very rarely buy books full-price anymore unless they’re newly released.

  10. LOVED Redeeming Love! It was long and sometimes hard to get through, but it was fantastic. Have you ever read The Red Tent by Anita Diamant? OMG, if you haven’t, please read it!

  11. I want to read 1984 too. It is one of those “I probably should have read that by now” books.
    I recently read The Great Gatsby and it was good. Not great, but good.

Leave a Reply

