Muppet Treasure Island

Once again I am participating in Picture Me Reading‘s weekly meme Awesome Adaptations, about films that have been adapted to screen from books. This week’s theme is “An Awesomely Swashbuckling Adventure.”

treasure-islandConfession: I have never read Treasure Island, and I’m sure the differences between it and Muppet Treasure Island are plentiful but, come on, how can you resist a Muppet adaptation of a classic?

Confession #2: I haven’t seen this movie in a pretty long time, like probably a decade or so. But I loved it when I did see it and it has Tim Curry so… hopefully I would still like it?

The story focuses on an orphan boy named Jim Hawkins who has always longed for nautical adventures and finds himself on such, but unfortunately gets caught up with pirates.

tim-curry-pirateIncluding Long John Silver, played by Tim Curry. There’s danger and such, but of course it ends well for Jim Hawkins and the other good guys.

Here’s the one song I do remember from the movie:

Also, while looking for pictures of the movie, I discovered that there was a TV movie of Treasure Island that featured a young Christian Bale! What?! Must see!

cbale-treasure-island

Can you think of another swashbuckling adaptation from book to film? 

8 thoughts on “Muppet Treasure Island

  1. Ha! I’m with you, have never read the story but c’mon, it’s The Muppets! Even if I didn’t regularly follow your blog, I would’ve opened this post in my reader just for that reason. Then add in Tim Curry (who I love), and you’re good to go. Greatest adaptation ever (okay, that might be taking it a bit far…)

    • I need to watch it again! We own it on VHS, but the TV we have with a VCR built in is so small and in my office, so yeah, I think we need to find the DVD for cheap or rent it sometime…

    • Oh no, you need more Muppets in your life! Except skip Muppets in Space, you don’t need that! Muppets Take Manhattan and The Muppet Movie were my childhood staples, and then I also enjoyed this, and my husband and I watch A Muppet Christmas Carol every year. The new Muppet movie with Amy Adams and Jason Segel was also really cute and fun.

Leave a Reply

