My Top 10 Books I Have Read So Far This Year

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday topic (hosted by The Broke and The Bookish) is the Top Ten Books I’ve Read So Far In 2013. Well, I’m an extremely lightweight book blogger, so I have read exactly 10 books so far this year (if you don’t count a couple of really short companion e-books). Though this isn’t much for some, this is actually pretty big for me as it means I am on par with my goal of reading at least 20 books this year (though I would love to pick up the pace and read a few more!), which will put me at reading more books this year than I have in a single year since… before high school. So there you have it.

Since I have read only 10 books this year, I thought I would rank each book from least favorite (which thankfully I still didn’t hate) to most favorite, and why I ranked them accordingly.

TTT

10. Reached by Allie Condie (2 Stars)

This book, as the end of a series, was fairly disappointing. The beginning of the book showed potential, with a plague outbreak caused by the Rising, who we had believed were supposed to be the good guys, but then it went downhill. For starters, since this was the first book of this trilogy I had read since reading The Giver, I suddenly realized that the Society in this series was a little too similar to that of The Giver. Also, I thought most of the characters felt out of place. I don’t want to re-review the book; you can see my thoughts on it by clicking on the the book title.

9. Across the Universe by Beth Revis (3 Stars)

I loved the concept of this one… a girl who is cryogenically frozen wakes too early on a spaceship still years from its destination. The execution of it… was just OK for me. It featured a really creepy mating season among humans on the ship, a lackluster romance, but some interesting twists. I plan to finish the series one day as I’ve heard it gets better, but let’s just say I wasn’t rushing to buy the second book after finishing this one.

8. The Last Battle by C.S. Lewis (3 Stars)

The Last Battle turned out to be neither my favorite nor least favorite in The Chronicles of Narnia, with a story that was part boring, part interesting, but wrapped up with a beautiful ending.

7. Till We Have Faces by C.S. Lewis (? Stars) 

I still haven’t figured out how to rate Till We Have Faces, because it left me with more questions than answers. Maybe it’s not a bad thing, as I know C.S. Lewis was much smarter than I am, but it left me feeling a little unsatisfied. Still, there was a certain captivating quality to it. Watch for my review to come soon.

7-10

6. Scarlet by Marissa Meyer (4 Stars)

This follow-up for Cinder did not do as much for me as the first book of The Lunar Chronicles, but I still found it enjoyable overall. I do love the characters and world Meyer has created, and I am looking forward to Cress!

5. Ender’s Game by Orson Scott Card (4 Stars)

Reading this book was me dipping my toe into science fiction waters. It’s an interesting story about a bright boy who is sent to train for a war when he is far too young, and the secrets kept from him. I enjoyed it overall, but there were parts that were slow and that did not enjoy as much. By the recommendation of a friend, I do plan to read at least one of the follow-up books, Ender’s Shadow. I’m also looking forward to the movie later this year!

4. Cinder by Marissa Meyer (4 Stars)

I absolutely adored this first book of The Lunar Chronicles, especially the friendship/blooming relationship between Cinder and Kai. Truly the most swoon-worthy romance (even though it was really a pre-romance) I’ve read this year! The only real reason I gave this book 4 stars instead of 5 was because it was just way too predictable. Still, this was a great debut by Meyer!

6-4

3. The Book Thief by Markus Zusak (5 Stars)

A heartbreaking book filled with beautiful words. I’m not sure what else to say without writing another review.

2. Start by Jon Acuff (5 Stars)

If you’ve been on this blog long enough or read my About Me, you know I have been influenced by author and speaker Jon Acuff, who has this idea that anyone can work towards their dream, but it may not always happen the way you expect it. I can’t really do his words justice, though. But if you’ve had a dream banging around the back of your mind, if you’ve ever wondered what your next step in life should be, if you wake up every morning wishing you could quit your day job, read Quitter and Start. They are five star books for me because if you follow his advice, it’s life-changing. I’m still in the middle of the process of working on my dream, and starting this blog has played a role in that. 

1. Unbroken by Laura Hillenbrand (5 Stars)

Unbroken, the true account of a WWII fighter pilot’s life before, during, and after his incarceration at multiple Japanese POW camps is simply a stunning tale. I don’t read much non-fiction, especially long historical books like this one, but it always kept my interest, and Louie’s story never ceased to amaze me. If you only read one book on this list, it should be this one. I would recommend it to EVERYONE.

3-1

What have been your favorite reads this year so far? 

37 thoughts on “My Top 10 Books I Have Read So Far This Year

  1. I’ve only read the first two of the Chronicles of Narnia series so the rest are on my TBR list. Cinder and Scarlet are also up there too, as I keep seeing them on various Top Ten Tuesdays lists.

  2. Great list! I’ve just finished Cinder and I have to agree – it’s definitely predictable. Still, a great book with a definitely fun relationship between Kai and Cinder. Oh, and still so happy see that you loved The Book Thief ❤ It's one of my favorites!

  3. I haven’t heard of Unbroken but I love the sound of it. I have Cinder in my list too. And I plan to read The Book Thief and Scarlet very soon, they are both waiting their turn in my to-read stack!

  4. Ender’s Shadow is a parallel book to the story in Ender’s Game told from the point of view of Bean. A character who many say is even more intriguing than Ender. A very good book.

    The actual sequel to Ender’s Game is Speaker for the Dead. A lot of people who loved Ender’s Game did not like Speaker because it is so different. Others though have enjoyed it more because of the same reason though. It is a very different type of book and takes place thousands of years in the future with Ender now a middle aged man.

    I thoroughly enjoyed both of them and recommend them both highly.

  5. I’m glad you enjoyed Cinder! I recently finished that one and it was a really great read! I haven’t read Scarlet, but I have a feeling that it’ll be just as good!
    My TTT

  6. I actually really liked Across the Universe – it was the later books that didn’t work for me, especially the last one. My guess is that if you weren’t a big fan of the first one, you probably won’t love the next ones either. I agree about your assessments of Cinder and Scarlet though – BIG Cinder fan, and Scarlet was just okay. But I can’t wait for the next book in that series. 😀

    • Really? I think you’re the first person I’ve known of to dislike the last one. Someone told me they got better, so now I feel a little conflicted. Can you give any spoiler-free indicators as to what happens that you’re not a fan of?

      • Huh, maybe I’m the odd one out! So take all of this with a grain of salt, lol. I did think the second book was good, though not as good as the first – I’m just a fan of first books overall though. I haven’t read many other reviews for the last one, but personally, I thought the romance just didn’t work (as much as I like Amy and Elder, they got kind of… boring? idk), and the new characters that get introduced felt really one-dimensional. And there’s something that happens at the very end of the book that I didn’t like – but it’s impossible to explain without spoiling… It just included one of my pet peeves that left me a little disappointed. =S

      • I think Amy and Elder are kind of boring in the first book, so that’s interesting. The last book seems neat because they finally land and aren’t on the spaceship anymore. Maybe I’ll read up on multiple reviews before I make a sure choice on them. As it is, it’ll probably be next year before I get around to them anyway.

  7. I want to read Ender’s Game. I haven’t read much in the way of science fiction.

    I have never heard of Start, but I am definitely going to check it out. Sounds really good.

    • I think Ender’s Game is a pretty good intro to science fiction. It’s not all space battles and such; it’s very much a character story.

      I would definitely recommend Start, but I would also recommend reading Quitter first. You can read Start without reading Quitter, but Quitter is a nice set-up for Start.

  8. Scarlet and Cinder…yes of course! I haven’t read Across the Universe, but want to so this makes me happy 🙂 Ahhhh for The Book Thief. Heartbreaking.

Leave a Reply

