Round-Up and Blog/Life Update

Round-Up is my very occasional feature where I share my favorite story and media related articles from the interwebs with you! 

Divergent Trailer

If you’re interested in the Divergent movie, you’ve probably already seen the trailer for it, but if not, enjoy! I have kind of had low expectations for the movie, but the trailer looks pretty good I think! I like Divergent and Insurgent both but I don’t LOVE them the way most people do, so I probably won’t be as picky as some about how exact the story is, so hopefully I will enjoy the movie.

Strong Female Characters

buffy

I tweeted about Sophia McDougall’s piece on why she hates strong female characters as well as Erin Bowman’s agreement with the article and her take on the issue. You should check them both out, but the premise is the question of why can male characters be portrayed in a great many different ways but that female characters are basically either “weak” or strong. I like my characters to be smart, interesting, and at least not a complete push-over, regardless of whether they are male and female. I do believe there are differences between men and women and how they are wired, but none of those differences can constitute why women characters are to be perceived SO differently than male characters. They’re interesting reads, so check them out if you haven’t already!

Blog/Life Update

My September is crazy busy, folks. I have plans for every weekend, work, and a mini-vacation with my husband planned. I haven’t been too good about blogging ahead of time, so if my posting suffers this month, this is why. And same goes with commenting on others’ blogs. But I am quite excited about everything I will be doing this month! And I will certainly try to share some of these things as I go through the month!

I recently had the chance to see Kat Zhang at a local bookstore when she was doing a signing. I heard about it when I went to buy the paperback of What’s Left of Me, since I am reading and discussing it along with some other blogging friends. I also found out that she would be selling the sequel, Once We Were, two weeks early at the event, so that was further motivation to check it out! It was real low-key, and I had the chance to talk with Kat briefly and she signed both of my books. She was nice and I appreciated her taking the time to talk to me. I think I’ll be reading both books this month!

IMG_0824

Oh, and it’s my birthday month, just to put the icing on top of everything else. 🙂

2x01-131

I may or may not use this picture every time I talk about birthdays from now on…

What’s going on in your world this September, or what media related stories have stood out to you this week? 

16 thoughts on “Round-Up and Blog/Life Update

  1. I love meeting authors! I liked What’s Left of Me, but with the release of the sequel, I think I will have to reread it soon.
    September is also my birthday month! Wooh! I hope you will have a good birthday whichever day it is.

  2. Happy birthday whenever it comes around 🙂 It definitely sounds like you have a jam-packed month ahead! I hope you enjoy every bit of it! And how cool that you got to meet Kat Zhang. I just bought my copy of her book on my ereader. Can’t wait to read it and compare thoughts!

    • It was neat! I didn’t really know what to say to her since I haven’t read the book yet, so I asked a question about finding an agent… I hope she didn’t think it was lame! She was nice though. I look forward to comparing thoughts as well!

  3. Happy birthday month! 🙂 I listened to the audio version of “Divergent” quite a while ago, and I also didn’t love it. I didn’t dislike it, but I haven’t bothered to check out the sequel or anything and I’m not super stoked about the movie. I keep thinking I should give it another try, though, since most people seem to really, really love the story.

    I think those articles on strong female characters are super interesting – it’s made me look back on all my favorite female characters and think about how they’re portrayed, as well as the characters I write about.

    • I’m glad I’m not the only one who doesn’t LOVE it. Again, I did like it and thought it was a pretty good story, but it didn’t blow me away. Insurgent is a little confusing if Divergent isn’t fresh on your mind, so if you read it, you might want to do it after watching the movie (if you watch the movie/want to read Insurgent).

  4. Ahhh so lucky that you got to meet Kat Zhang! I have no idea if/when I’ll ever get to see her! I totally understand your busy schedule for September. Feels like my life has been that way a lot lately, too.

    I didn’t really have high hopes for the Divergent movie, either, but the trailer looked better than I expected. I’m still pretty… skeptical or something, though. We’ll have to see when the movie comes out. o_o

    • I guess we will have to see. I know that before the trailer came out, I saw somewhere that it was a “budget film,” which made me think it wouldn’t look good, but the trailer looked pretty good. I guess only time will tell for sure…

  5. Happy Birthday! (I hope I’m not late…) And yay for getting signed copies of Kat’s books and meeting her 😀 I can’t wait for your thoughts on What’s Left of Me and Once We Were!

    Oh, and I have also read the article on strong female characters. I thought it was very well-written and had a lot of truth to it at some parts. I really don’t care how a character is (female or male), as long as they have some redeeming qualities and growth. A female character could be a push-over and needy, but as long as she grows, I don’t think I would complain too much 🙂

    • You haven’t missed it, it’s later this month! 🙂 I’m really enjoying What’s Left of Me right now!

      I do kind of agree with the sentiment about the character needs to grow. I only say kind of because needy character annoy me, but if she (or he) changes over time and I can see that transition, then I’d probably be OK with it too ultimately.

Leave a Reply

