My Top 10 Fall Reads for 2013

Top Ten Tuesday topic is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is ” Top Ten Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List,” which I’m splitting into two sub-categories, the top 5 books I plan to read this fall (and probably beyond) and the top 5 fall releases I am most excited about. Both lists are in no particular order. 

Top Five Books On My Fall 2013 TBR List

1. Ender’s Shadow by Orson Scott Card

enders-shadow

I still really want to read this before the Ender’s Game movie comes out. I still need to borrow a copy from my friend. (*Waves to Graham if he’s reading this*)

The rest of these books I believe I will be acquiring for my birthday! Yay!

2. The 5th Wave by Ricky Yancey

the5thwave

3. There You’ll Find Me by Jenny B. Jones

there-you-find-me

4. Bird by Bird: Some Instructions about Writing and Life by Anne Lamott

lamont-bird-by-bird

5. Code Name Verity by Elizabeth Wein

codenameverity

My Top Five Fall Releases

Most of these books I probably won’t read until winter or possibly even later, but I’m still excited about their release!

1. Once We Were by Kat Zhang, Coming Today! (September 17)

oncewewere

I’m actually already halfway through this one, since I got to buy it early at an event where Kat Zhang was present, but I was not sure how excited I would be to read this until I read What’s Left of Me right before, and thankfully I enjoyed her first book and was excited to read this one, especially without a wait! I’m sure I’m going to hate having to wait for the last book though!

2. Allegiant by Veronica Roth, Coming October 22

allegiant

I’m sure I’ll wait to read this one until it’s available for me to download as an e-book through my library, as I did with the previous two books, but I’m excited for its release and to finally get answers to all the questions I’ve had since the first book! Roth has also said that Caleb develops a lot in the book, and since I like him, I’m intrigued!

3. The Transfer: A Divergent Story by Veronica Roth, Published September 3

thetransfer

This one is already out and should be easy to find and quick to read so… basically I just need to get around to reading it. And Free Four.

4. Across a Star-Swept Sea by Diana Peterfreund, Coming October 15

acrossastarswept

I really enjoyed For Darkness Shows the Stars so I am looking forward to this follow-up in the same universe! I’ll probably ask for this one for Christmas.

5. Steelheart by Brandon Sanderson, Coming September 24

steelheart

I haven’t read any Brandon Sanderson yet, but after listening to him on the Writing Excuses podcast and hearing really good things about his YA books, I believe I will have to remedy this soon.

What books are you excited about reading this fall? What releases are you most excited for? 

33 thoughts on “My Top 10 Fall Reads for 2013

  1. I’ve never heard of the Transfer: a Divergent story. I must check it out once I’ve read the first two books in the series. I loved Code Name Verity so I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. And yay, someone else who hasn’t read The 5th Wave yet.

  2. Bird By Bird is one of my very favorite books about the writing process. I love Anne Lamott’s novels, but I simply adore this book, and I re-read it every couple of years. Her stories about how she moves through the writing process are wonderful. Enjoy!

  3. I haven’t heard many good things about The 5th Wave, so I’m still on the fence… but Code Name Verity is very good according to other people, so i need to get to it as soon as I can! I’m definitely reading Allegiant, though! And I’ve heard good things about Kat Zhang’s books, so I’ll have to read the first one soon!

  4. Allegiant! Oh and you definitely should read The Transfer :> Boy am I glad to see The 5th Wave on this list! Loved that book 🙂 And you know what, I think I should read For Darkness Shows The Stars. You seem to have loved it :O

  5. It makes me so happy to see Ender’s Shadow on here! I loved that book so much – it’s the perfect compliment to Ender’s Game, but still remains as its own story too. Bean is such a well written character!

  6. Those are awesome lists! Bird By Bird is one of my favorite books! I’m always so encouraged by it. I’d never heard of Steelheart, but it sounds like an awesome book…I might have to add that to my list. 🙂

    • I don’t think I’ve heard a single bad thing about Bird by Bird, which is encouraging! And Brandon Sanderson is apparently also awesome, so I’m looking forward to reading Steelheart and/or something else of his one day!

  7. I’m excited to see Code Name Verity there, I love this book. I think Allegiant is on every list this week! I have heard nothing but good about Bird by Bird and I’d love to read it someday. Even for those with no interest in writing it is meant to be a great read.

  8. This list makes me incredibly happy. THERE YOU’LL FIND ME is very good 🙂 I need to catch up on the Divergent series. I’m with ya on CODE NAME VERITY and so many others! Great picks!

  9. Ender’s Game is one of my favourite books, hope you’ve managed to score a copy 🙂

    I need Allegiant in my life now, I’m not sure I can wait till the 22nd! I am so glad I have found this blog, otherwise I wouldn’t have known Roth had written some short stories!

Leave a Reply

