Writers Unite Intro Post!

For NaNoWriMo, I’m joining up with some other writers from the blogsphere for a group called Writer’s Unite! If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo this year, be sure to check it out!

I feel like I already explained what I’m doing in my Why I’m Doing NaNoWriMo This Year post earlier, so I’ll try to give you some new insight in this post. I’ve been writing stories since I was in the first grade, but this will be my first time to attempt NaNoWriMo. Why? Because I didn’t get super serious about writing until my last semester of college, and the thought of writing SO MANY WORDS in so little time terrified me! However, over the past four and a half years I feel like I have been honing my skills and feel that if I really commit to do this, I can write down 50,000 words in one month (and maybe only 3/4 of them will be crappy). But it will be a challenge! I work full-time and commute an hour both ways, so there’s 50 hours a week already taken up. Then eating, sleeping, hanging with the hubby are also essentials that take up time. Chores and church take up time too, so let’s just say I don’t have a lot of free time. But I will have three days off work this coming month, and I have one hour  lunch breaks, so hopefully I can find and make some time to make it happen! I just have to convince myself to drag my big laptop up three flights of stairs everyday I go to work! Or at least some days! Other days I can continue to write things out in my notebook, be it scenes or ideas or character info or whatever, as I am doing now.

My goal is straight-forward: to hit the 50k mark. And considering that I write YA and that I tend to not be verbose in my storytelling (at least compared to many novelists), I imagine this could be the entire story. At least until I rewrite, but I won’t worry about that until AFTER November! (Probably after the holiday season, actually.) I feel like just getting a lot of words down would be a huge accomplishment for me, and I suppose as long as I hit 35k and know I did the best I could I won’t beat myself up too badly. 🙂

The title I have selected for this project, assuming it doesn’t change, is Earth Bound. Even though I have dozens of story ideas, most of which I have started but have very little written on, I decided I wanted to work on something new and seemed relevant to me right now. The story centers on Noa Reed, a seventeen year old girl who lives on Delta Space Station. After the loss of a close friend, she becomes addicted to virtual reality, and is sent to Earth to participate in a rehab program.

I have a Pinterest story board for inspiration and you can find me on the NaNoWriMo site under username acps927.

I hope you’ll join us too! Good luck to everyone participating this year!

WritersUniteBanner

8 thoughts on “Writers Unite Intro Post!

  1. So glad you’ve joined the group! I’m in the same boat, life is super busy since I teach full time but I’ve found over the past few months of writing and NaNo prep that there is actually quite a lot I can get done in even half an hour… so don’t be discouraged! Actually for me the short amount of time I have to write makes me really push myself to get as much as I can out of those precious minutes as possible, so in a way it’s a motivating factor haha.

    Ooh a science fiction story from you!! Awesome! I can’t wait 😀

    • I do agree that having limited time can be a good motivator, so I’m hoping it’ll work for me too! And yeah, the sci-fi element will be light, but I’ve never written sci-fi before, so fingers crossed it comes off well enough!

  2. That story idea is frickin’ amazing. Anything with space is automatically a thumbs up from me! I love the name Noa Reed. It really resonates for me.

    Good luck!

    (Adding you as a writing buddy on the NaNoWriMo site! :D)

Leave a Reply

