My NaNoWriMo Project Playlist

One of  the suggested posts for Writer’s Unite is to create and share a playlist for your novel. I was actually working on developing a playlist before I saw this suggestion, at which point I decided I would have to share it with you all! Some songs I chose for lyrics, some I chose for mood, but most are chosen for both. (BTW, there are repeat artists because I listen to a lot of the same artists over and over again! Also, I included videos for the ones I think do the best with demonstrating what I am going for with both mood and lyrics.) Hope you enjoy!

playlist

1. Paradise, Coldplay

2. How to Save A Life, The Fray

3. Man on the Moon, Phillip Phillips

4. So Easy, Phillip Phillips

5. Misguided Ghosts, Paramore

6. All I Wanted, Paramore

7. When It Rains, Paramore

8. Souvenirs, Switchfoot

9. Thrive, Switchfoot

10. C’mon, C’mon, by Switchfoot

11. The Violet Hour, The Civil Wars

12. This Time, Jonathan Rhys Meyers

13. Crave, For King and Country

14. Let Me Fall For You, David Cook

15. Always Somewhere Close, Lifehouse

16. Time, Hans Zimmer

If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, what artists and/or songs are on your playlist and how do they convey what you’re writing? 

9 thoughts on “My NaNoWriMo Project Playlist

  1. Awesome playlist! I’m always looking for new writing music so I love reading other people’s playlists. Time by Hans Zimmer is actually on my playlist. I’ve also been listening to the song Moving On by Michael Giacchino –it’s from Lost the final season. I don’t know what it is about that song, that one and The Lightening Strike by Snow Patrol, I keep listening to those two songs over and over.🙂

  2. Great playlist, I love the idea of choosing one to write to. Coldplay are my favourite band but I love Snow Patrol, The Civil Wars and The Fray as well.
    I’m all for the recent trend for authors to share playlists along with the book. Especially if it there is link to the music so you can listen while you read.

  3. This isn’t the kind of music I usually prefer, but just by looking at the artists listed (and listening to some of the songs), I can tell what the feel of the playlist is like! I love that, it’s like this little secret… I know the feeling/tone of your novel, but nothing else about it yet!🙂 By the way, I hope NaNo is going well for you, Amy!🙂

    • I’m glad a tone was communicated in the playlist, and I hope it comes out in my writing! Eek! Right now I am just slightly behind of my word count but I think by the end of the month I might be able to pull out enough to reach the goal… Hopefully! Most of what I’ve written is a hot mess, but I just keep chugging away so I’ll have something to draw on later! Thanks for the encouragement!

  4. Nice playlist! I would happily write to all of these!
    I am very excited to see someone else listening to Jonathan Rhys Myers. Even if, admittedly, I am limited mainly to the “August Rush” soundtrack.

Leave a Reply

