5 Books I Thought About Putting Down But Didn’t

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. Today’s topic is Ten Books I Almost Put Down But Didn’t. I couldn’t come up with 10, but did come up with 5. And to say I almost put these books down is a bit of an overstatement for some of these, but the thought had to cross my mind at some point for it to make this list. I decided to put this list in order to “holy cow, I’m really glad I didn’t put it down!” to “dang, I would have been better off to have that time back.” 

1. Code Name Verity

code-name-verityI don’t think anyone warned me that this book started off slow. Everyone was just like, “Oh, this book is awesome!” That first part was hard to get through. I thought Verity was a true traitor and some parts of her story didn’t make sense and I didn’t understand what the point of it all was… but boy did it start to click in Part Two. I’m glad I hung on.

Final Rating: 4.5 stars/ My review

2.  Never Let Me Go

never-let-me-goWhen the thought to put down this book crossed my mind, I was really too far into it. It wasn’t the story or the characters, I was just afraid the whole rest of the book was going to be about sex, as the narrator started to talk about it more and more. But I decided to stick with it because I really did want to know the rest of the story. And it was somewhat worth it. The ending was a little unsatisfying, sadly.

Final rating: 3 stars/ My review

3. Any of the books in The Maze Runner series

GR-mazerunnerWhen my co-worker loaned me the first book I wanted to push through it because I thought she saw something in it. And then the end of the first book piqued my interest in the second book. The second book was a strange combo of weird and fascinating, and then of course I read the third. And hated the end. And then I didn’t learn my lesson and read the prequel, hoping for something more satisfactory, but NOPE. I just wish I had been smart enough to STOP at some point.

Final average rating of series: 2.25

4. The Testing

GR-testingI felt completely emotionally detached from the characters, the writing was simplistic, and the plot heavily borrowed from some others. But I bought this one as a hardcover so I kept going. The premise of this one was intriguing, but the execution was lacking a bit for me.

Final score: 2 stars/ My review

5. Not A Drop to Drink

GR-droptodrinkI never got emotionally attached to anyone in this story either, and I didn’t get what the “point” of the story was. I probably would have stopped reading if it had not been for book club, because the thought did cross my mind more than once.

Final rating: 2 stars/ My review

What books did you almost give up on? Are you glad you didn’t or do you wish you had?

P.S. Let me know what you think of the new blog theme! I was ready for a change.

P. P. S. Be sure to check out my guest post today over at Oh, The Books!

25 thoughts on “5 Books I Thought About Putting Down But Didn’t

  1. I’ve had two of these books on my TBR list forever: Code Name Verity and The Maze Runner. I don’t think I’ve heard anyone say Code Name Verity starts off slow, so I’m glad for the warning! The Maze Runner I already bought, and I’m sure I’ll read it eventually, but I’m definitely put off by how much everyone seemed to hate the series as a whole. I mean, why commit to it if it might not make me happy in the end?😛 Ah well, we’ll see what happens!

    I haven’t ever actually put a book down because I don’t personally know how to DNF, but there has been one or two where I wanted to. For both I ended up disliking them and rating them really low. I kept hoping they’d redeem themselves eventually… but nope.

    And I love the new theme! I got paranoid when I opened the post thinking when the heck did she change her layout?! But then saw the ps and felt better.🙂

    • The first book is the best, so just read it and then make up your own ending, and that’ll be better! And yes, I just changed it last night, so don’t feel bad at all!

  2. The comment about wishing you had just stopped at some point with the Maze Runner series made laugh. I’m about to start the 3rd book in a series that I have a feeling I’m going to feel exactly the same way about! I will keep the slow beginning in mind when I get to Code Name Verity. Thanks for the heads up!

    • I’ll be curious to hear your thoughts about the ending. I found it very unsatisfying. Hope you enjoy Code Name Verity! It is interesting, but it did take me a while to get into.

  3. Hey, I applaud you for giving five! I couldn’t even do this topic because the ONLY one I thought of (I’m sure there must be more…) was Code Name Verity. I usually just DNF. So for CNV, I felt the same way. I wondered why no one warned me of the beginning, I felt like I was duped at first! Not a Drop to Drink was alright, but I admit it, I DNF’d it. I blame it being due at the library. Right? Right.

  4. I like the new theme.
    I haven’t read any of these. You aren’t the first person I have heard say “The Maze Runner” wasn’t as good as anticipated. And yet I still want to read it.

    • Glad you like it!
      The first book is the best, if your curiousity gets the best of you. I just found the conclusion of the series very dissatisfying. It didn’t really answer many of my questions AND my favorite character was killed off!

  5. Awe man, I am really looking forward to reading The Maze Runner series!😦 But now I’m wary. Hopefully I get taken with it because I really want to see the movie. And I swear it’s not just because of Dylan O’Brien…

    • The first book is not too bad, but then it just gets stranger and stranger and I didn’t feel any proper resolution. I wouldn’t be surprised if the movie was better than the book, because you’d get more action and less of Thomas’s sometimes annoying inner dialogue.

  6. Nice picks. Most of these are on my TBR list – Maze Runner series, The Testing and Not A Drop To Drink – so I will keep my expectations low on this one. I have read Never Let Me Go, which I quite enjoyed myself but didn’t like the end. I also read Code Name Verity but am like the ONLY person who wasn’t a fan of that one. I didn’t find it very historically accurate, I think the Gestapo would have killed her long ago for the crap she pulled. The end wasn’t satisfying enough for me, wish I’d put that one down myself.

    • The end of Never Let Me Go was… hollow? I think that’s the best word for it. I enjoyed most of the stuff about them being the children pretty well, it was when it shifted to the adult years that I started to feel a little unsure of some of it. And I can understand why you’d feel that way about Code Name Verity.

  7. I had the same issue with The Maze Runner; I don’t think I was even interested enough to read the second book. And if you hated the third, I’ll probably save my cash and have someone spoil me so I know what happened in the end! *unless you want to spoil me? :D*

    • I’m trying to remember the details of what even happened now (I read it a couple of years ago). Some major characters die. A lot of weird crap happens and they find the people who are responsible for putting them in the maze and it was all so unsatisfactory…

  8. Aw, so sad you didn’t like Not a Drop to Drink! It’s one of my all time favourites!😄 I remember getting the Maze Runner from the library and reading like 2 chapters…um, but yeah. Never finished it or really gave it a proper chance. I plan to change that before the movie comes out!!😄
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

    • What did you like about Not a Drop to Drink? And I don’t ask that in a snarky way, I’m genuinely curious since no one in my book club connected with it but other people seemed to really enjoy it.

  9. I read both Code Name Verity and The Maze Runner trilogy. I never even thought to put down Code Name Verity because my besties threatened me within an inch of my life to read it. I actually didn’t think to put down The Maze Runner either (I rather enjoyed the first book), but I wish I hadn’t read the second two. I agree with you–I HATED the ending. I also wasn’t a huge fan of some of the characters that were introduced in the second two books. I honestly think The Maze Runner should just be a standalone with a somewhat cliff hanger ending.

  10. I didn’t like Never Let Me Go much as a movie, though I haven’t read the book.

    It’s so hard to keep reading a book if you don’t care about the characters. I’m trying to remember the last book I put down but I can’t come up with it. It was probably because I wasn’t into the characters, though🙂

Leave a Reply

