Recently Spotted Redesigns

I feel redesigned book covers is a pretty well covered topic in the book blogging world, but I recently spotted two redesigned book covers while browsing a bookstore that I had not seen on the Internet yet, and felt compelled to share!

The Redesign I Don’t Like

breathe-annie-breatheAfter reading just the first sentence of Things I Can’t Forget, I quickly realized that I was not going to be able to read any book Kenneally has set within a 50 mile radius of where I live (you can see me explain that here), but the cover for Breathe, Annie, Breathe really caught my eye when I first saw it. I think it was the font and the illustrated clouds, so cute! Also, it seemed to be pretty clearly about running.

With the redesign, on the other hand, we have something so much more generic. The focus is more so on a romance than on the running, which is fine, but it’s not where near as creative or interesting. I’m curious if they felt they needed to make this book seem more in line with her others.

The Redesign I Do Like

landry-parkI don’t dislike the original cover for Landry Park, but I really, really like the new one. I love the dress, I like the font, and I just really like the whole feel of it. I have no idea which one is more reflective of the actual story, but this new cover definitely caught my attention in a way the first one had not.

What do you think of these redesigns? Do you agree or disagree with my assessments of them?

8 thoughts on “Recently Spotted Redesigns

    • So you prefer the first designs of both? Like I said, I definitely don’t dislike the original Landry Park design, I just love that red dress on the redesign!

  1. I love the cover for the hardback of BAB, but I would have bought a paperback just so my series matched. But then I found out that the spines don’t even match! What’s the point of a redesign if it still doesn’t match up with the series?

    • I think the ideal cover for this book (based on the blurb, can’t say for sure since I haven’t read it) would be a silhouette running against the Nashville skyline. But that could be just because I want to see the Nashville skyline on more book covers. 🙂

  2. I definitely do not look the redesigned cover of Breathe, Annie, Breathe as much as the first. TO be honest, I thought the girl was facing the camera and just had hair all over her face until I realised that she’s walking ahead of the boy off the cover XD

    As for Landry Park … I don’t really like either of them. I think there’s too much black space on the first one, but I don’t really like anything about the new cover. Especially the James Bond circle thing …

    • I can understand not liking the circle part… I feel like that might have been less pronounced on the physical cover… or I just didn’t think of it at first glance.

Leave a Reply

