Top 10 Non-Scary Movies for Halloween

Top Ten Tuesday is a meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is a Halloween freebie, so I decided on the Top 10 Non-Scary Movies for Halloween, because I’m not big on scary myself. I know the focus of Top Ten Tuesday is supposed to be books, but this is my blog and I do what I want to, so there you go. This week’s list is in no particular order.

1. Clue

clue-movie

I’ve watched this movie more than once for Halloween. It’s about a murder, but it’s such a farce. If you’d rather laugh about a murder mystery than be spooked by it, this is definitely your movie.

2. The Nightmare Before Christmas

nightmarebefore

This is the only real Halloween themed movie on the list, but it’s not scary, and it’s also kind of a Christmas movie? I’m really vexed as to when you’re actually supposed to watch it other than sometime between October and December. Believe it or not, I’ve only seen this movie once, and it was when I was in COLLEGE, but I think it’s pretty good and would recommend it if you haven’t seen it before.

3. Monsters, Inc.

monstersinc

They may be monsters, but they’re more cuddly than scary. Don’t let James P. Sullivan fool you. 😉

4. Psycho

Psycho_(1960)

This movie is suspenseful, but I would not classify it as scary, and I’m a bit of a scaredy-cat. I’ve also only seen this one once as well (in college… do we see a pattern here? My major was so worthless…), but I was definitely impressed with this Hitchcock film.

5. Rear Window

Rear-Window-Poster

This is another good suspenseful but not scary Hitchcock film.

6. Any and all Harry Potter films

Harry-Potter-and-the-Prisoner-of-Azkaban-movie-poster

I think this is pretty obvious, unless you aren’t familiar with Harry Potter. In which case you should be.

7. The Prestige

The Prestige

While not scary, this movie is definitely twisty and fascinating and I think suitable for a Halloween evening.

8. October Sky

october-sky

This movie is not even in the realm of scary, but it just seems appropriate with the word October in the title.

9. Remember the Titans

remember-titans

If you care more about football season than Halloween season, this one’s for you.

10. Star Wars (whichever is your fave)

star-wars-episode-vi

Because Halloween is a perfect time to dress as your favorite Star Wars character, or just to get ready for the upcoming installment!

BONUS: TV Show Episode: “Day of the Dead” from Season 5 of Babylon 5

babylon-dayofthedead

I wouldn’t really recommend watching Babylon 5 out of order or out or context, but I think this might be one of the times you might be OK (though it’s been a little while since I’ve seen it, so I can’t say that for certain). There might be some confusion with details, but it’s pretty episodic in an otherwise very serial show, and it’s co-written by Neil Gaiman. Penn & Teller also make an appearance. I’d be lying if I said it was my favorite episode of the show because it’s not, but if you like the spirit of Halloween and Neil Gaiman, you might enjoy it.

Do you have a favorite non-scary movie that you think would be great to watch on Halloween?

21 thoughts on “Top 10 Non-Scary Movies for Halloween

  1. I’m right there with ya… No scary movies or books for me. I love that you included October Sky in your list. It is one of my all-time favorites! I actually grew up about an hour from Coalwood and my grandmother graduated from the same high school as Hickham (in the 40s, though). That movie holds a very special place in my heart.

  2. Love the Prestige and Monsters Inc!! Love Rear Window too but I have to have all the lights on to watch the last part of it lol. If you like The Prestige, you will probably also like The Illusionist! My TTT

      • Nope. I was unemployed for over a year, did some temp work, and once I finally got into full-time work it’s all been office/administrative. I got burned out on my major when I was a junior though, but didn’t want to change it at that point. I minored in marketing hoping that would work out, but not yet. Maybe one day. Mostly I just want to write, so I’m working on that.

  3. I never watched Clue as a kid but I always thought it looked like fun. The Prestige is totally awesome and totally twisted and I’ve only seen it once but one of these days will find a way to watch it again. Also, I’ll take any excuse to watch Harry Potter 🙂

Leave a Reply

