Wednesday Round-Up: Marissa Meyer and TV Shows Galore

Marissa Meyer Blog Post (via Goodreads)

What I liked about this post, “Winter: The Beginning of the End,” is that Meyer talks a little bit about the process of writing and especially finishing out a series. She talks about all the different plot points and relationships and character arcs and all that which is going to have to find a way to wrap up in the end of The Lunar Chronicles. She says she wrote the first draft for Winter in 2011 when she first sold Cinder, because she did want to it to flow well with that story. Now, she has to rework it after having written two more books in-between, to see what still works and what doesn’t quite fit anymore. It made me realize that published authors don’t necessarily have an easy time with their rewriting or editing process (which I have lamented about). I appreciate how much thought she is putting into this, and it probably helps she already has a draft under her belt. Sometimes I find the end of a series disappointing and/or rushed-feeling, so I’m hoping Meyer finds that balance of tying up those loose ends and pacing herself until the last page.

Season Finales

As I have mentioned before, I am fan of the show Castle, and of course we got a cliffhanger for the end of season five! I am surprisingly not feeling too anxious though, I think largely because I have faith in the writers. I think they have the potential to make the end decision interesting and not as black and white as it appears. (*SPOILER* on the Castle Facebook page fans are posed which will she choose, ring or job? I don’t think it’s that simple though. It can be a lot more complex.) But we’ll have to wait and see how it all turns out!

?????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????????

And if you’re like me, you’ve been wondering when the heck the “mother” of “How I Met Your Mother” was going to show up. (I was starting to think the show should really be called “How Everyone Found Love Except Me”)  And this is from someone who doesn’t watch the show, ever really (I’ve seen just a few episodes, mostly from the first season). Well, for the season 8 finale, which is the second to last season for the show, she is finally revealed – briefly! Even if you’ve only seen a couple episodes, you still might find the clip where she is revealed interesting:

Series Premiere!

I only watch about one or two TV shows at a time, and all I have now is Castle. Well this fall that’s going to change with the premiere of Josh Whedon’s new show, S.H.I.E.L.D., all about the intelligence agents behind The Avengers. And you know the guy I was missing so much in Iron Man 3?

He’s baaaaaack! Yay!

(Side note. My husband asked me, “Do you know why Joss Whedon brought Agent Coulson back?” I ask why and he replies, “So he can kill him again.” I hope not, but he makes a valid point!) At first I was kind of sad to see Coulson was the only familiar face, but was I seriously expecting someone from another show to be on the show, or Samuel L. Jackson to regularly appear? And I think Whedon is great at creating characters, so it’ll be great to meet new ones. And though I liked The Avengers, and Serenity, I think his true strength is in TV (OK, I base this off Firefly only as I have not seen his other shows, but Firefly was great!).

Anything TV related you’re excited about? The  American Idol finale is tomorrow… this is the first time since season six (when I first started watching) that I have not at least kept up with the contestants much at all (I did skipping watching one other season though, when Ellen was judging and Lee won), but apparently it’s a showdown of two girls!

5 thoughts on “Wednesday Round-Up: Marissa Meyer and TV Shows Galore

  1. I really have to dive into the sequel of “Cinder.” Nice to know Meyer has a plan in place for the end of the series. Also nice to know she has the same trouble with editing and revising – I guess some things are just constant. 😉

    The only show I’m watching right now is Game of Thrones…I don’t have cable or netflix or anything because I learned a long time ago I don’t watch TV responsibly, but I’ve been sneaking in episodes of GOT at other people’s houses and it’s been very exciting. 🙂

  2. Looks like you watch higher quality TV than I do! Haha. I have watched some episodes of How I Met Your Mother, but usually they’re just reruns and I watch them when nothing else is on. I agree though, I’ve always wondered if the mother was ever actually going to be shown. They seem to drag that out forever! So yay!

    Personally, I tend to watch a lot of trashy reality. I don’t know what it is. I feel like after using my brain for school or reading, I just like to mindlessly zone out on trashy tv. But let’s see, this summer I’m most excited for Whose Line is it Anyways? (it’s coming back!) and So You Think You Can Dance on tv.

Leave a Reply

