Round Up: The Thirtysomething Teen, Emma Approved, and Sci-Fi Posts

Round-Up is my very occasional feature where I share my favorite story and media related articles from the interwebs with you! 

The Thirtysomething Teen: An Adult YA Addict Comes Clean

heygirl-YAlitIt seems like there are more and more articles like this one popping up about adults reading YA.  It’s nice to know that the market for YA goes beyond teens, and that more adults are open to admitting that they like it too.

Emma Approved

As I think most of you are aware, the new web series Emma Approved, brought to us by the folks who did The Lizzie Bennet Diaries, has arrived! I will admit, my first thought on Emma herself was that she is annoying, but she is supposed to start off a bit immature and presumptuous, and I trust the crew working on the project. They proved with LBD that they want their characters to grow. Knightley is perfect though, wouldn’t you agree?

knightley-faceI love Johnny Lee Miller’s portrayal of Knightley in the 2009 BBC production, and I think I’m going to love Brent Bailey’s portrayal just as much!  I’m also anticipating meeting more characters: Harriet, Mr. Elliot, and Frank! I’m really looking forward to watching the series move forward!

Fictional Sci-Fi Inventions – Be a Part of Our Lives, Please!

oblivion-shipMeg at Adrift on Vulcan explores our favorite sci-fi tech that we are ready to be real! She talks tech from Iron Man 3, Oblivion, Star Trek, and more!

And Speaking of Star Trek…

voyager-crew

Check out my guest post on Kelley’s blog Another Novel Read, if you haven’t already, about elements from Star Trek Voyager I want to see adapted into a book! Even if you’re not into Star Trek, I think you’ll find it interesting!

What media related stories have stood out to you this week? 

4 thoughts on “Round Up: The Thirtysomething Teen, Emma Approved, and Sci-Fi Posts

  1. Emma kind of annoyed me too, but I think it’s great that the writer’s decided to really stick with how Jane Austen wrote her, and like you pointed out, that leaves more room for character development! I also liked what they did with Knightley’s character & I’m really curious to see what they do with Harriet’s character. I’ll have to look up that BBC one with Johnny Lee Miller!🙂 Great post!

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

    • I think Harriet is going to be the assistant that Knightley mentions to Emma that she needs to hire, but I guess we’ll see! And definitely check out the BBC Emma with JLM! It’s a mini-series so it’s like 3 hours total, but it’s so worth it!

  2. I’ve been enjoying Emma Approved, too. I like that is has a completely different feel than the LBD; it seems fresh and interesting, and I like how they’re using multiple cameras. And I’m definitely also liking Knightley so far! I’m still trying to read Emma, and I must say that following the series at the same time is quite the experiment.

    Also, as someone who doesn’t read a lot of YA, I’ve found the number of articles about it written recently quite illuminating. The community around YA seems great.

Leave a Reply

