Brainstorming Blog Titles

Sometimes I go back to my drafts to see if I find any blog posts I started writing but didn’t finish, and I found a list of blog titles/concepts I had written down back when I was brainstorming the concept of this blog over 2 years ago. I have to say, a lot of these I just don’t understand what was going through my head… but I suppose that’s what brainstorming is all about!

Rewrite (There was a note next to this that said “rewrite with the door open,” and I have no idea what that means.)

We’re All Stories in the End (This is a quote I like a lot that I have seen attributed to Doctor Who, and there’s also a pretty similar quote in Tiger Lily, though I had not read it at the time.)

Turn the Page/Page Turner (Page Turner sounds too close to The Perpetual Page Turner, so it’s probably good I didn’t go with that!)

Young Adult (I liked this one but I knew I was ripping it off of the Charlize Theron movie with the same name.)

I Love Good Stories (This one was highly considered.)

Rewriting the first poem you ever loved (I think this is from a quote.)

Some stories stay with us forever (From Sam’s speech that I talk about all the time)

Castles in the Air (From a Little Women quote.)

Imagination is the only weapon in the war against reality (from a quote)

Rage Against Reality

Art is the only way to run away without leaving home (Again, from a quote.)

Runaway Art

The story is never over (This is from a Bablyon 5 movie.)

Tell Me A Story (I think this one and the next one were derived from a Phillip Phillips song.)

I’ll Tell You A Story

Dreaming Awake

Write. Watch. Read. (I really almost did go with this one, but I thought people would get the order mixed up.)

Austen, Nolan, and I

Courageous Creativity

Creative lifestyle

Creative Rush

Batgirl Writes (I think I knew this sounded dorky, but I was trying to show my nerdy side.)

It’s Like the Great Stories (Again, from Sam’s speech.)

From Jo & Katniss (Getting there!)

Myth

Fable

Prequel/sequel

Read. Watch. Write. (Yet another order of those words.)

I feel like that’s a pretty long list! I was trying to iron out the idea that this blog would be about stories of various kinds, and it looks like I might have been considering creativity a topic at the time as well.

What was your brainstorming process for you blog like? 

17 thoughts on “Brainstorming Blog Titles

    • There really isn’t a story beyond what you can find in my “About” section… the title that felt right was the one that I felt portrayed the spirit of what my blog would be, which is a tribute to my favorite stories and characters. 🙂

  1. I love this list. It’s really interesting to see where blog names come from and what you come up with along the way. For me, I already had a domain, cayt.com and I knew I wanted to use that. So I had to come up with a title that involved Cayt but I didn’t want it to be straightforward, like Cayt Reads or something. I basically thought of all words that had “cat” in them and tried them out by replacing “cat” with “Cayt”. I came up with Caytastrophe, which had a fun ring to it. Vicarious sounded good with it. 😛 So I got Vicarious Caytastrophe

    Cayt @ Vicarious Caytastrophe

  2. Hahahah I spent like NO time on my blog title, and just reused my old alias. WOULD YOU HAVE JUST NAMED YOUR BLOG YOUNG ADULT? Hahahha. I don’t even think I could come up with a book related blog title now. I’m not that creative!

  3. I spent little time with the title to mine. I had one title called “Ryell’s Amazing Blog” or something to that degree. Eventually, I decided on something better and maybe a little discreet. So, I went with an apparently unoriginal title called “Random Thoughts.”

  4. You had a good pool of options to choose from! I think it’s so interesting to see where things like blog names come from. And just as interesting to get a peek at the almosts and might have beens. Courageous Creativity is a great title but also a lot to live up to 😉

  5. I don’t think I bothered brainstorming at all because I was so desperate to hit POST. Which, is a bummer. If I knew back then what I know now about branding and blog identity, I probably would have taken more time and come up with something more creative than Books & Tea.

    • I understand! Sometimes I wish I had branded myself with an image like a lot of bloggers have done, but since I know nothing about design that just wasn’t feasible, unless I hired someone, and I definitely wasn’t thinking on those terms back then.

  6. I love this list! I definitely could have used it when I started blogging. I actually ended up changing my name a few months in because I didn’t like it (although I’m pretty happy with my current blog name–Bookish Serendipity).

    Your blog name is one of my personal favorites, and I love all these names as well. Thank you for the wonderful post!

  7. I didn’t put much thought at all into my first blog’s name Hopeless Romantics. When I decided I wanted to change my blog’s name and move to WordPress I went through TONS of names haha. My sister/co-blogger kept rejecting all my ideas D:
    Choosing a blog name though can be a really hard decision! I looked up a lot of words in the thesaurus when I was brainstorming the second time 🙂

  8. Wow what a list – I feel like I didn’t have that many ideas for mine. Blog titles are definitely hard to come up with. i really liked that you tried different variations of storytelling and it’s meaning for you. It seems like you already had a purpose for your blog, and I feel like it took awhile for my purpose to come to me. 🙂

Leave a comment